The Rebirth

I never thought this one would see the light of day, but The Rebirth is finally here.

For those not already aware, The Rebirth is a collection of poetry I wrote over a period of about five years, around the time I stumbled into adulthood.  So about ten to fifteen years ago (has it really been that long?).  I credit much of my ability (or lack thereof) to the thirty or so poems contained within this volume.  I often say I cut my writing teeth penning these modern masterpieces and the hundreds of other lesser poems that didn’t make the book.

Maybe I’ll issue a director’s cut someday.  *holds breath

I wrote very little fiction back in those days.  I didn’t even read much.  It was writing and re-writing these poems that taught me a lot about language.  What works and what doesn’t.  How to properly put words together, and how to make them flow.  How to create that almost musical quality that all aspiring writers aim to achieve.  Am I there yet?  No, but I think I will be in the not too distant future.  I’ve got some big projects lined up for 2012—before the world ends.

The Rebirth is as raw as it is refined.  It was inspired by the works of Edgar Allan Poe, and it should be instantly obvious.  I view this as both a good thing and a bad thing.  Good because I consider Poe to be one of the greatest poets of all time, and bad because it will never measure up to what he produced.  However, I would not have even released this collection if I wasn’t proud of it, or if I didn’t think anyone else would enjoy it.   For the most part, my poetry days are probably over, but through this book they may just live on.

The Rebirth is available for free as an eBook at most retailers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

